The new hottness…

In two products I have recently opened I have noticed the start of a new trend. I will call it the swipe. Here, have a look.
Photobucket
See the little swipe of stuff over the bottom left corner of the jersey piece.

I have no strong feelings either way. It does separate the design from the pack, so that os something.

But not so fast, look what I just found last week…
Photobucket
It’s another swipe!

These two sets were released so close to one another that it can’t be a case of stealing. I think it is a clear case of Simultaneous Invention .

I am sure there are people out there that hate it and scream about the damn card companies, etc, etc… I am not one of those people so I am cool with the new trend in relic windows.

That aside, how cool is that Buster Posey jersey card? The design is almost overdone. It’s all weird and has shapes floating around, and the little dot embossed name thing but it works. It looks like what someone in the late ’80s would pictures cards in the future looking like…and they would be right!

-K-

7 responses to “The new hottness…

  1. I think it definitely helps to break things up… especially on the Stephen Hill card. Just hope knuckleheads out there won’t start advertising these “swipes” as two piece memorabilia cards ;-)

  2. I’m wondering if it has anything to do with making it harder to fake a patch card. I would think swapping the swatch would be more difficult with that little swipe. If that’s the case, I think the swatch-swap preventing swipe is a swell idea that should go over swimmingly.

  3. Can you spell “JETS” any smaller on that card? That’s pathetic! You know someone who has an IQ of about 1 above plant life on Ebay is going to be calling it a two jersey piece card.

  4. Yeap it’s to deter fake patches in the product.

Leave a Reply

