Corny…

I really try to stay positive. There are enough folks out there that get all pissed at everything so I always saw myself as an island of positivity in a sea of “this sucks”.

But even I have my limits.

 photo 1f362478-3811-4ffd-a91d-2339b1a26eaf_zpsa02c7633.jpg

I think Mr. Bench’s face says it all.

I know these are just give aways and don’t hurt anyone but it just pushes the relic thing too far.

I am sick of the one=upmenship that has been going on in the hobby for a many years. Multiple autos, 1/1s, increasingly weird and over the top relics all of which drive pack prices up. I don’t need cards with hair, bugs, corn cobs, street/event worn relics, whatever…

Lets just go back to making normal cards. Maybe an etched foil or colored refractor every here and there, that’s all I need.

Rant over

-K-

5 responses to “Corny…

  1. Johnny Bench, you’ve just entered the Twilight Zone.

  2. On one hand, a cornstalk relic from the Field of Dreams is kind of neat and is a fairly important part of movie baseball history. And I enjoy multi-sport products and non-sport inclusions in some trading card issues. And if it’s appropriate to the set I like some of the unique items used in relics.

    On the other hand, I have never really been into 1/1s and I don’t understand the idea of putting 16 autographs of one player on a single card. I don’t ask players to sign a baseball 16 times. And *baseball* card sets should have equipment worn by players in *baseball games* – likewise for football, basketball, etc. And manufacturers seem to try so hard to bring the next big thing to cards, while forgetting about attracting new, young collectors.

  3. I thought that was a huge chunk of wood from a bat. Upon closer inspection I was disappointed. What a weird thing.

  4. I think I would have found this kinda funny maybe a year ago, but I am in a very different place with cards these days. I have really simplified my focus.

  5. Did you just list this card on eBay last week? If so… I’m the guy who won it. I’ve been looking to add one of these “corn stalk” cards to my PC for awhile now. I guess it’s true… one man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

Leave a Reply

