Hello Mr. Canseco

I love bustin’ wax as much as the next guy, but with a 3 year old and another on the way I don’t always have the scratch. In it’s place I have taken a step back to my childhood to get my collecting nut.

As a kid I have a few white whales I went Ahab over that were always just out of reach. Since the 80’s collecting bubble burst long ago some of those whales are now much more attainable cod.

I was a huge Mets fan as a kid, Mattingly may have ruled the mid 80’s card world, but Darryl Strawberry was a close second. I was lucky enough to get a few of his regular rookies out of wax packs, but I was never able to land the big dog, his 1983 Topps Traded. I can remember going into our local card store in Minneapolis, Grandslam sports cards, and running to the display case to look at the 83 traded Strawberry and dream of the day I would hold it in my hands. But like the GIJoe aircraft carrier under the Christmas tree and a date with Karen Nelson from second grade it was not meant to be.

When I returned to collecting in 2004 one of the first things I did was hop on ebay and pick up my very own copy of the once elusive card.

Photobucket

Isn’t she a beauty?

This started a special section in my collection, the 80’s dream cards.

I recently added a few cards.

This card has some what been lost to history,

Photobucket

but there was a time when the 87 Fleer Will Clark was the card to have. I remember it selling at prices north of 20 bills when the Giants went to the World Series back in 1989. I picked it up for a BIN of a buck on ebay about two weeks ago.

The next pick up was this guy,

Photobucket

Next to the 1984 Donruss Mattingly I would argue this is the most iconic card of the 80’s. I actually had one back in the day, but I traded it with a few other cards for a Gretzky rookie card. I remember this card pushing a $100 when the bash brothers were tearing it up. I got this guy for the low price of 99cents just a few weeks ago, how the might have fallen.

Searching out childhood card fantasies is as satisfying as pulling a rookie auto of the next big thing, and a hell of a lot cheaper.

Next on the list is an 84 fleer traded Dwight Gooden, wish me luck.

6 responses to “Hello Mr. Canseco

  1. I had always wanted that Canseco card…. Until like you a bought it for a buck!

  2. I remember as a kid looking at the new Stadium Club cards and thinking how expensive those packs were. They were $5 apiece. I had my wife get me a whole box last year for Christmas for less than the cost of four packs back in the day. I felt so cool in a 1991 kind of way.

  3. Totally know what you mean. I got a Boggs rookie as a throw in in a cheapo-ebay lot, and damn thing is near mint.

  4. When I got back into collecting a couple years ago. I had a list of my top 20 rookie cards I had to have from when I was a kid. Here was my top 5..

    1. 89 UD Ken Griffey Jr.
    2. 90 Leaf Frank Thomas
    3. 92 Bowman Mike Piazza
    4. 86 Donruss Jose Canseco
    5. 85 Topps Mark McGwire

    Only cards I need to finish my Top 20 is the 84 Donruss Mattingly. 82 Topps Traded Ripken, 88 Score Rookie/Traded Biggio, and the 95 Bowman Vlady.

  5. Pingback: Morning Coffee and the Blog Roundup 9-29 « NatsTown

  6. I was at a card show in St Louis in the spring this year and a dealer gave my son a Topps Clemens RC for free. I didnt’ even buy anything from the guy.

Leave a Reply

