Almost famous set…

1989 was a huge year for Football cards, maybe the biggest year ever. Two new sets were added, both Epic.

We also so one of the best rookie classes in recent memory; Barry Sanders, Troy Aikman, Deon Sanders, Chris Crater, Thurman Thomas, Derrick Thomas, Andre Rison, Michael Irvin, Randell McDaniel… That’s seven HOFers for those keeping count at home.

When sets started to drop in 1990 collectors were salivating. Adding to the fervor was the addition of a new set, Fleer Football.

Fleer was coming of a hugely successful baseball set in ’89 and their football set was big news and carried huge expectations. On a design level it didn’t disappoint.
PhotobucketPhotobucket
These are some really nice looking cards, even by todays standards. Dare I say maybe even a little ahead of their time. I really like the use of team colors in the design. It gives each team a unique looks. I also like the football on the bottom with the little team logo in the right. Even the fake sparkle on the metal football works for me.

Unfortunately this set came in a year with a less than stellar rookie class.
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Poor Jeff and Andre, so much promise. Jeff George did have a sweet mustache, so at least he had that going for him. The design is really nice. I like the blue background color on all the draft pick cards and the little “NFL draft choice” looks cool too.

Fleer did release and Update set that had some more notable rookies.
I have these two guys from the set in a binder.
PhotobucketPhotobucket
Remember when these guys were big names? Me neither.

The one card that has stood the test of time is this guy.
Photobucket
His Score Supplement is more valuable but this is my favorite of his rookies.

I really like this set, it may be one of my favorite designs all time. Too bad the 1991 rookie class stunk on ice (well most anyway).

I think UD owns the rights to make Fleer cards. If they ever get back in the NFL game I hope they use this design for something, I know I would buy it.

-K-

4 responses to “Almost famous set…

  1. When this set first came out in June of 1990, it was awe inspiring. I remember going to a card show and you could not find this and one dealer only had a few singles. I remember he charged me $1.00 for a Tim Krumrie card. I think it was the first time I ever paid a $1.00 for a newly issued card.

    I sold my complete set a couple years ago for $4.00 (I also could have just given it away, but it was the principle.)

  2. I was having a good day, until I saw that Ware card.

Leave a comment