Someone explain this to me…

I was shopping for a Skinner auto and was tempted by this card.
Photobucket
With just a few minutes left it was only at about $100. I was shocked, I have seen his Cup rookie go for well over a K. Granted it was a single white patch but still. It ended up seling for $170. I looked around and realized this is the version of the rookie hand numbered to his jersey number of 53. The regular rookie is numbered to 99, so this card is more rare and therefore I would have guessed more valuable.

To do a true apples to apples comparison I found a regular version numbered to 99 with a plain white patch.
Photobucket
Near I can ell the only difference is one has the printed xx/99 the other has a hand numbered xx/53. The 99 version sold for $415. That is roughly 2.5 times the 53 version.

I also looked at fancier multi patch versions.
PhotobucketPhotobucket
The 53 version sold for $329, the 99 sold for just under $1,500. That is nearly 5 times as much. I already looked into the difference in price of different patches but this is a little different.

What gives? Why is the 53 have such a lower value? I get that the 99 are the standard rookie and that carries a premium, but 5 times? For basically the same card.

I was tempted to go nuts and pick up the Skinner single color patch to 53 to add to my single color auto/patch collection.

-K-

3 responses to “Someone explain this to me…

  1. set building, you have to have the 99 version

    • That has to be a piece of it, definitely something I didn’t of though. Are there really that many set builders to drive up the price so much, I honestly don’t know.

  2. It’s goofy, but I would expect that the /53 version is considered a parallel and therefore less desirable despite being more rare.

Leave a Reply

