Hall of Fame worthy…

Tomorrow we get the word on who is joining the baseball HOF this year.

Every once and a while you get a slam dunk pick like Tony Gwynn, Cal Ripken or Rickey Henderson. Then you have the mass of debatable names, your Blylevens and Bagwells. Here are my picks for entry this year in no particular order.

Photobucket
Rock has some pretty impressive numbers but flew under the radar most of his career. He had over 2600 hits and over 800 stolen bases. He had a knack for using his speed to move his team forward and make things happen. Something you don’t see in the stats. He is the 4th all time in career stolen bases. He also won three World Series.

Photobucket
I will admit this is primarily a homer pick. I would put him in for game 7 of the 1991 series. Everything else in his monster career is just gravy.

Jack also has one of the worst pictures in card history.
Photobucket
The picture itself isn’t all that bad but look at that cropping job. Terrible.

Photobucket
Larkin was beast in the ’90s. One of the best of his generation. His impact was bigger than his numbers, and his number aint half bad. A 12 time all star and league MVP. He also had 9 silver slugger awards and 3 gold gloves. A number that would have been higher if not for playing the same time as HOFer Ozzie Smith.

Photobucket
You can’t be one of the key pieces of the machine that was the late ’90s Yankees and not get the nod. Similar to Larkin you can’t get the true feel for Bernie as a player from his stats alone.

My final pick is not a popular one.
Photobucket
1998, I will leave it at that.

I am on the fence with this guy.
Photobucket
Trammel was an above average player in the early ’80s. I am just not sure he was above average enough. I do kinda hope he gets there just to have a rookie card with two HOFers.

Thoughts?

-K-

15 responses to “Hall of Fame worthy…

  1. My first thought? RIPKEN! Sorry, pet peeve. Other than that I’d swap out Bagwell for Bernie, but I give you a big thumbs up for supporting the well-deserving Larkin, Morris and Tram.

  2. Bernie in but no McGriff, Walker, or Bagwell? I also don’t particularly think of Jack Morris as a HOFer, but I don’t think villages should be burned if he gets in. I have no problem whatsoever with McGwire making it.

  3. I can’t think of a more debatable sports topic than HOF worthiness.

  4. I didn’t know Mickey Klutts was in the Hall of Fame. How’d I miss that?

  5. The Hall of Fame is a joke. I’ve heard people call it “The Hall of Good”, that sounds about right. Bernie Williams? seriously? If you put him in, where is Maris, Oliva, and Kaat? My votes this year would go to Bagwell, and Larkin, thats it, and I’m on the fence with both those guys. Either way, it’s going to be a crappy class.

  6. Haha I’m not mad, just throwing out my opinion. Which is what this is all about, right? or does everyone have to agree with you in order to comment?

    • Yup, thats the Mojo Beard, a police state.

      I took offense to the “Seriously?” a statement like that implies that my suggestion is so far afield that it needs to have it’s seriousness questioned.

  7. Don’t be so sensitive Kevin. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. If I had a vote I would vote for Larkin, Raines, and Bagwell. My prediction is that Larkin will be the only one to make it this year.

Leave a Reply

