Best show on ice…

We have a stretch until the next NHL season, to hold us over Panini offers up Rookie Anthology. A retrospective of the year that was…rookie style.

The set has a base component with it’s owen relics and rookie auto relics and then sprinkled in a nice assortment of rookies from this past years releases.

Photobucket
The Backstrom brothers.

The base design is solid. Nice use of team colors and gold embossing.

I have one small beef, I do’t like veteran base cards that have a set name that includes “rookie” on it. I am not sure why, I just don’t. That a personal thing so don’t hold it against this set.

The most prevalent hits are the rookie rivalry relic cards.
Photobucket
I like these. Hockey rivalries are second only to football in their intensity so this works.

The rookie relics are pretty sweet
Photobucket
It’s a simple design that works. Nice and clean looking.

I believe some of the bigger name dudes are on card.

Now the rookie Anthology hits.
Photobucket
Crow Royale base rookies feel much more substantial in a pack of “normal” cards. The die-cutting really pops.

Photobucket
I love this years Contenders hockey so this was a welcome addition.

I am not sure the source of these cards. Are they old replacements panini had, or were the specifically made for this set? Does anyone know?

The star of this product is the little one card bonus box topper pack.

It promises an auto or patch.

I did pretty well.

Photobucket
Mr. Stanley Cup MVP himself, pretty nice.

But wait a minute…

Photobucket
I got a second card in my bonus pack.

…wait another minute…

Photobucket
A third!?

Mr. UMD himself none the less.

I e-mailed Tracy at Panini and it seems I got a fluke pack with 2 extra hits.

Even with just one of these, any of the three, this is a solid box. The 2 bonus make it over the moon sweet.

The bonus packs I have seen have offered up some sweet hits, so if you are so inclined give it a shot.

-K-

4 responses to “Best show on ice…

  1. Very nice. Did you purchase this box or was this a donation from Panini?

  2. Well, I’m not saying they stuffed the ballot box on this one, but geez!!

  3. This design is incredible! You definitely know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

