Sweetness…

I dropped a scan of my big show get the other day, but I feel the need to revisit the topic to give Sweetness his due.
Photobucket

Walter Payton was the man; few players had the level of success on the field and in the hobby as number 34. His football card swagger rivals giants like Nolan Ryan, Jordan, Gretzky and maybe even touches on monsters like Mantle.

He has to be in the top five as far of football legends cardboard is concerned and along with fellow bear Jim MacMahon are the top dogs when it comes to headbands!
Photobucket
I love the little kid in the bottom corner, how awesome would it be if it was a young Brian Urlacher.

I’ve wanted a copy of his rookie for sometime, my recent push to acquire graded copies of some of baseballs legends was the catalyst to finally land one.

Photobucket

The card is in decent shape, the 5 seems mainly due to the light printing on the front. The corners are pretty decent and the centering is just a bit off.

The green in the Bears logo is supposed to be a bit darker but this is a weird set color wise. I really think this is more of a printing variation than fading since the yellow border is as bright as other cards. If you look around ebay at various examples you see a darker version and ones that look like mine. I really think it should be a variation more so than viewed as a defect. That said I think this is more like a 6-6.5.

As it stands it would fall right around $80 as far as what it would have cost me on ebay.

I traded an ungraded Marino and Rice rookie for it as well as a Mike Irvin auto. I have multiple copies of each and wanted the Sweetness so it was a no brainer. I think I got the better side of the deal.

I also traded a second Irvin auto as well as Topps Lebron rookie for a 1968 Topps card game Clemente…
Photobucket
…and a sweet Willie Stargell patch /24, both for my brother. I forgot to scan Willie before I gave it to him.

I was hoping to land a few Baseball HOFers but a Canton dude aint to bad either.

-K-

3 responses to “Sweetness…

  1. congrats on the additions!

  2. Nice pick-up. I miss the man and man do I miss watching him run. At the start of the football season, every year I watch the Pure Payton video.

  3. Nice pick-up. I miss the man and man do I miss watching him run. At the start of the football season, every year I watch the Pure Payton video.

Leave a Reply

