You’re the best around…

This post is about the HOF, but not steroids so my closing line in the last post holds true.

I think Jack Morris is a HOFer.

Yeah I said it!

My reasoning is simple. He should be in for Game 7 of the 1991 World Series.
Photobucket
Even if he had never pitched a game before or after he should be a HOFer. It was that impressive.

I truly believe his performance in game 7 was the single greatest pitching performance in baseball history.

Let me tell you why.

Game 7 was Morris’s 3rd start of the series. He pitched 3 of the 7 games for the Twins. That alone is impressive, but…

-He went 10 inning. There are guys that struggle to get 10 innings in 3 starts, let alone a 10 inning complete game!

-The 10 innings were all scoreless.

-He was facing future HOFer John Smoltz. These two guys were arguable the two biggest pitchers at that moment. It wasn’t David versus Goliath, it was Goliath versus Goliath

-He was facing the best team in the NL at the time. A team that was capable of putting 14 runs on the board.

-It was the ultimate in clutch. If he won the Twins take the series, if he loses they don’t.

He could not have been under more pressure. As it progressed it was apparent this was going to be a one run game. There was no room for mistakes. I remember watching and thinking he didn’t look at all nervous. The baseball gods asked for his best and he gave it to them. Morris went out and put the Twins on his back and won the best game of the best world series ever played.

His 10 shutout innings to win the series is unmatched. Not even a perfect game can come close.

So convince me otherwise, what pitching performance can even come close to Jack Morris’s game 7.

I say you put him in and on his plaque just put in big letters “GAME 7” and nothing else!

-K-

6 responses to “You’re the best around…

  1. I agree 100%. SOMEBODY GET THE BRAVES A BODYBAG…YEAH!

    Seriously, the dude was a winner. Not only did he have some excellent numbers and throw a no-hitter, he won THREE WORLD SERIES. That game 7 start, probably one of the top 5 in the history of the game, is just icing on the cake. Get it right, idiots.

  2. I’d submit Johnny Podres matches Morris in WS Game 7 performance. You could argue either one but it’s semantics.

    Either way, neither are in the HOF.

  3. Harvey Haddix’s 12 perfect innings and Don Larsen’s perfect game in the WS and a couple more have to be ahead of Morris in my book, but not by much. I would definitely put Morris in the top 10 games of all time, which is definitely not an insult.

    I do have to point out that it was commonplace in the 80s for aces to pitch games # 1, 4 and 7 though. Viola in 87 and several did it in the LCS’s. Pitchers weren’t made of glass back then.

  4. Great performance….but I’d like to submit….

    Don Larsen….perfect game….against the defending champions in the World Series with a lineup with Junior Gilliam, Pee Wee Reese, Duke Snider, Jackie Robinson, Gil Hodges, Carl Furillo, and Roy Campanella was more epic.

    And one game does not a hall of fame career make…..this is apparent throughout all of the voting and baseball history. And I can think of 100 pitchers who have had a better season than Morris has had in his career.

    I’m not saying he wasn’t good, I just disagree that he’s a HOFer…..the 3.90 ERA is too much to look past (previous high of HOFer: Red Ruffing with 3.80)….the only HOFers I saw after a quick lookover with lower ERA+ (putting league and time period in context) were Catfish Hunter and Rube Marquard.

  5. Don Larson’s perfect game in the ’56 series was game 5. It was great but the series wasn’t on the line in that game so Jack is still better.

  6. I’m kind of undecided or indifferent about Morris. I don’t know if I’d vote for him. I’ve said no before, but if I really had a vote, next year I bet I’d switch to yes because I’d rather err on having more guys in given the choice. I’m not offended if he’s in or not.

    If people are looking for context, I can’t think of a better example than Bill Mazeroski. He was a great defensive second baseman, a good hitter, and known for one incredible moment (like Morris, a type of game 7 WS winner). Without that moment, he never gets in. With that moment, I’m pretty sure Morris will get in some way or another eventually.

    Also, not to nitpick – but the 1991 version of John Smoltz was far from Goliath. At that point he was in his 3rd full season, with a lifetime 42-42 record and a career ERA of 3.72. In 1991 he was 14-13 with a 3.80 ERA, had the 4th most wins and 4th best year on the Braves staff, and 1991 was far from a lively year for hitters. He sure gave a glimpse of what was to come, though.

Leave a Reply

