Biggest Baller of them all…

I am sure ya’ll have heard about the $2.1 million sale of a Honus Wagner.

There is no doubt that is the biggest baller of all cards. As far as value nothing comes even close.

But would you want one?

For me if I could pick one card to add to my collection, not a card to get and sell and pocket the cash but actually keep, it would be a ’52 Mantle.

The Mantle card is one we talked about as kids. The ’52 Mantle was the pinnacle of cards.
 photo 1952Mantle.jpg
The Honus Wagner card was there and we knew about it, but there was no real connection to it. Our dad’s had ’52 Mantles as kids. They saw the Mick play. My dad lived in NYC in the ’50s and’60s. Mantle was part of his life. He told me stories about Mantle and the Yanks. Not even my grandfather was old enough to have really seen Honus play.

Honus was a hell of a player mind you, but just wasn’t part of our baseball banter.

If the two cards were in front of me and I was told to choose it would be Mantle. It is the baseball card.

Am I wrong?

-K-

8 responses to “Biggest Baller of them all…

  1. Honestly, when I was a kid, I didn’t know that card existed. ’75 Topps was the oldest thing I knew of as a kid…everything else seemed to expensive to even think about. To me, the cards only existed as lines in a Beckett.

    If I could add one card to my collection, with value not mattering, it would be ’89 UD Griffey. Of course, I make enough money to just buy one, but that seems too easy.

  2. I would love the honus wagner
    Sell it for 2.4 million
    Then go buy my 52 mantle
    And some other cards
    And have money left over to live on!

  3. I came into collecting in the mid-80s so cards from the 70s were still a pipe dream for me. That Wagner garnered a ton of publicity when Gretzky and McNall got into the game and that left an impression on me. So yeah, I’m with Nick on that one. I’d be down for the Wagner. There are a lot of ’52 Mantle cards, albeit not all in pristine condition but I go to shows all the time and I see them all the time. I even saw one dealer at my last show with over 50 of them, all graded 6 or higher (various grade companies)…How many Wagners are there? 50-60 that have been verified as legit? When the Graded 1-3 cards are getting $200K-$400K at auction, I’d easily take that money and use it to obtain many of the other iconic cards ever created. But that’s just me.

    Although, as a Pirate collector, that would definitely be a cornerstone of one hell of a collections…hmmmmm.

  4. The 52 Mantle is not even in my Top 20, and honestly, I’d take the 51 Bowman Mantle over the 52 Topps any day of the week. I think his 52 Topps is over hyped IMO. If I could pick one card, the Ted Williams 1939 Play Ball.

    • I am curious, what 20 cards come before the ’52 Mantle?

      • If price didn’t matter and neither did BV, this would be my Top 20:
        *Also, I didn’t include Twins players, because they would be #1. haha

        Ted Williams 1939 Play Ball
        Ty Cobb T206 Red Portrait
        Willie Mays 1951 Bowman
        Ken Griffey jr. 1989 Upper Deck
        Babe Ruth 1921 E121 American Caramel
        Sandy Koufax 1955 Topps
        Mickey Mantle 1951 Bowman
        Pee Wee Reese 1953 Bowman
        Hank Aaron 1954 Topps
        Babe Ruth 1932 US Caramel
        Ty Cobb 1909-11 E90-1 American Caramel
        Walter Johnson T206 Portrait
        Christy Mathewson 1911 T205 Gold Border
        Johnny Bench 1969 Topps
        Lou Gehrig 1933 Goudey
        Rickey Henderson 1980 Topps
        Mickey Mantle 1956 Topps
        Joe Dimaggio 1948 Leaf
        Derek Jeter 1993 Stadium Club Murphy
        Ted Williams 1940 Play Ball

        I don’t think Mantles 52 Topps is as great as it’s hype. It would fall in my Top 30 though. JMO

      • That is a good list. I am pleased to say I own 5 of those cards.

  5. I’d take the Wagner. I love old tobacco cards and Honus was in the first HOF class. They were talking about the card on NPR today and mentioned that he got the same number of votes as The Babe. Then of course there’s the whole story of the card and it’s rarity. Being a Cubs fan all my life I have more of a connection with NL guys. For modern cards I’d take rookie cards of Aaron or Mays before Mantle but I’d probably take a nice Koufax first.

Leave a Reply

