2003 Topps Finest Baseball Break- Part 3 & Review

I figure you’ve seen enough base cards at this point, so we’ll get right to the good stuff. Going in to mini box 3, this had not been the greatest of breaks. Yes, the Rod Carew bat relic was nice, but not nice enough to make the break a success. This box, to me, was definitely the best of the three.

For starters, we pulled another refractor of a star player, and future Hall of Famer.

There's something that still bothers me about Griffey in a Reds uni, almost like I knew it was the beginning of the end for him.

In the very next pack, I pulled the guaranteed relic. This is the first Pujols hit I’ve ever pulled. Too bad I don’t get to keep it.

Right underneath this card was a Pujols base card.

I gave it up to keep this card in my collection. It was pulled from the second to last pack.

It doesn't get any better than Gaylord rockin the old brown & gold.

Review: I’ve got to say that for $42 this was an awesome break. We got 3 quality refractors, 2 out of our 3 relics were among the best names found on the checklist, one of the best rookie autos (even if he is a bust), and a great refractor auto of a legend, in Gaylord Perry. Best of all is that all of the autographs in this set are on card. You combine that, with a solid, yet crazy design, AND refractors. Well… that sounds like a winner to me. I’ve got to say that in my opinion Topps has almost ruined the Finest brand. It’s pretty boring these days, since you know you’re going to pull 2 rookie patch autos, and a bunch of refractors. The past few designs haven’t been all that jaw-dropping either, and they now use stickers for the Finest Moments autographs. If it’s called Finest, it should be the Finest (ya think?) and in my opinion, 2003 Topps Finest is Finest as Finest should be. Even if I had paid full price for this box (it still had a $99.99 price tag on it when it arrived), this wouldn’t have been a terrible break. Looking over the checklist, the only rookie auto better than Marte is Adam LaRoche. The Finest Moments autograph set is full of great names, and while Gaylord Perry may only have been 5th or 6th on my list, at least we were fortunate enough to pull a Finest Moments auto. I don’t believe they are guaranteed to be one per box.

FINAL BEARD-O-METER RATING:

My first ZZ Top ever awarded. This is not to be taken lightly.

-b

6 responses to “2003 Topps Finest Baseball Break- Part 3 & Review

  1. Wow this is an amazing product I love the base cards I may have to pick myself up a box or atleast the Yankees from this product.

  2. Does every box guarantee an autograph of a Hall of Famer? Because if so I want one! Great pack and solid box!

  3. Vey solid box!

    More goodies on the way!!!

  4. I wouldn’t complain about that box at all, nice one!

  5. Good set. Those were some rad jersey cards.

    moe.

  6. ZZ Top! dang that must be good

Leave a comment