2003 Topps Retired Signature Edition Pack Break

Today, I had myself a little opening day ripfest, and this was the first thing I decided to bust. Too lazy and tired to do a video, so you just get scans today. I’ll be posting the rest of my breaks throughout the week, and I can state with all confidence you should check back often, because I pulled the card of my lifetime today (so far).

For now, here is one pack of 2003 Topps Retired Signature Edition.

BASE CARDS:

Dwight Evans

Dewey! Baltimore thanks you for your one year of swan song service. Were these the first cards to use the old-school Topps logo in a retro way? I wouldn’t know, that’s why I ask.

Carl Yastremski #'d /99

This card really didn’t scan well. You can’t even see Yaz’s name. This is the first parallel of any kind that I’ve pulled from 4 total packs of ’03 Retired. #’d t0 /99, and really quite nice looking in person.

Darrell Evans

This is Darrell, and Dwight was pulled earlier. It’s a (not quite) family affair up in here. Darrell Evans did something Dwight never did though, and that’s hit 40 home runs in both leagues. He also have the edge in career home runs, 414-385.

Orlando Cepeda

Senor Cha Cha himself, A.K.A. The Baby Bull. Did you know Cepeda was the first player to sign a contract to serve exclusively as the DH? The Red Sox signed him in 1973 for just such purposes, and he would respond by becoming the first player to ever hit 20 homers with 4 teams.

AUTOGRAPH:

Maury Wills autograph

Wills has a nice signature. Wonder if he signs as fast as he ran? I’m assuming he was fast, since I am far too young to have actually seen him play the game. I mean, he did steal 586 bases. You’ve got to have some quicks to do that. While all 4 of the autos I have pulled from these packs are solid, not one of them is a parallel, or signed by a member of the Hall. The same thing cannot be said about the 2 boxes I broke today, but that’s a post for another day.

All cards for trade, if there are any interested parties.

-b

6 responses to “2003 Topps Retired Signature Edition Pack Break

  1. I stopped following the Sox for a year or two after they fucked Dewey over. It’s not like the teams were any good then and they couldn’t let him retire in a Sox uniform after a season as a bench player. It’s not like Tom Brunansky, Jack Clark or Bob Zupcic did anything of mention. What a boneheaded move it was not offering him a contract. Then again, the Sox front office didn’t really have much of a clue back then. See: Clemens, Roger.

  2. Some of the photo selections in this set are questionable, and its attachment to the not0stellar 2003 Topps design is a minus for me, but I do like those autos! Can’t wait to see what you pulled that youre being so coy about!

    -Andy

  3. I love the Wills auto! I have a Hill or Hernandez auto from T206 this year. Am I close?

  4. i have a hill auto 2009 Topps, do you have that??

    • I don’t want any more Rich Hill autos. He was hear for one season, and is a scrub bum. Maury is for trade though, so feel free to make other offers.

Leave a comment