Still no word from from Clay

So you know what that means…..

This triple swatch of Vladdy numbered 9/15 can be yours..  All you have to do is leave a comment explaining your  all time favorite Upper Deck product. Every comment will then be assigned a number. For example if you comment first  surprise!!! your number one, and so on, so on.  I will then give the good old number generator a spin, and pick a winner.

Good Luck

The Mojo Beard

35 responses to “Still no word from from Clay

  1. My favorite Upper Deck product of all-time was 2008 UD Masterpieces. Simply beautiful cards–framed parallels, on-card autos, great artwork. What more could you want?

  2. Upper Deck MVP, especially 1999’s football version. I think it’s because it reminds me of the future.

  3. 1992 UD Baseball. It was the first box I ever saved up for. I displayed it on my dresser in my bedroom and opened a pack or two a day and it was AWESOME. I have a soft spot for junk wax, but this is/was as good as the junk era got. I still buy boxes from time to time at my LCS. It never fails to disappoint.

    I loved ’97 UD for the introduction of the game used jersey swatch, Masterpieces for the originality (and value in each box), and ’08 Heroes and Timeline because they were throwbacks to the junk era, but nothing will beat ’92 Upper Deck.

  4. I don’t mean to be a copycat, but without a doubt its gotta be 2008/2007 UD Masterpieces. The simple and beautiful design on a canvas stock made this product… Elegant in a way. It’s also inexpensive and occasionally you could pull a nice autograph. Thanks!

  5. I’d have to say that my favorite UD product has got to be the original. Nostalgia certainly plays a part on this vote, I just remember the first foil packs I opened and how “revolutionary” the mini-hologram was on each card. Anyways, there’s my two cents!

  6. My favorite is going to sound familiar. Any of the Masterpieces releases. I have all three in one binder, only missing a dozen or so total and it’s a ting of beauty to flip through!

  7. Hands down no contest 2008 Masterpieces…..in a distant 2nd is 2007 Masterpieces….dinged because other than Iamjoecollector….no one can tell what border is which—-so design FAIL…..still awesome cards.

  8. I’m going to be a copycat as well. I’ve always have a soft spot for the ’89 UD baseball. I was 11 years old and was still riding my bike up to the local card shop with a $10 bill in my pocket when I saw these for the first time. I was lucky enough to pull a Griffey AND a Dale Murphy reverse negative in the first 5 packs.

    Im also a big fan of Masterpieces. the on card autos and great artwork seal the deal for me there.

  9. 2001 Sweet Spot. I still love the “sweet spot” baseball autographs. I bought one box off eBay for $75 and pulled the Joe DiMaggio “Yankee Clipper” auto. Best pull of my life!

  10. Play at the Plate

    It’s really similar to the others, but I love the 2008 Masterpieces. Simply beautiful cards that begged to be held in your hand so you can feel the texture. I have a soft spot for the ’89 set as well. It was so revolutionary. The morons who destroyed UD destroyed a legacy of cardboard history.

  11. I’m going with 2002 UD Authentics. Love the classic design. Second would probably be another vote for the 07/08 Masterpieces.

  12. Responding an hr after the post, I’ll look like everyone else when I say 07-08 Masterpieces. Recently started to build the base sets since I haven’t really collected the past 6 yrs, and although I’m missing many, I love the artwork and texture of these cards.

  13. 1993 & 1994 Upper Deck Fun Packs.

  14. 2008 Heroes of Baseball.
    Fun to open, fun to collect.

  15. 1990 Upper Deck Looney Tunes Comic Ball Card Set

  16. I’m going to go with the 1997 & 1998 UD Collector’s Choice for their fun factor.

  17. I guess I didn’t explain. The joy of baseball. The joy of Saturday morning cartoons. Enough said.

  18. I am going with the 2008 Heroes Baseball. I recently did a box of them and really enjoyed it. The parallel sets were great and the player mix was good.

  19. I dug ’09 Goodwin. That’s a really attractive set. They included way too many of the crappy 50th Anniversary cards as inserts, and I could do without all the minis, but the base set is one of the best-looking I’ve ever seen.

  20. 2009 Spectrum- Its shiny and has a great game used checklist! Simple as that, thanks for the contest!

  21. Without a doubt, 2009 SP Legendary Cuts. The base is beautiful, the relics are well thought out and classy….AND I eventually dropped so much dough on the product that I snagged the Mystery Cut redemption….they still have not sent it, but the redemption card itself was a piece of class!

  22. My fave is 2007 Sweet Spot Classic. It was the very first box I purchased coming back to the hobby and I pulled a Pee Wee Reese Immortal Signature. Got me hooked (again) after that.

  23. I can’t remember when UD took over the Fleer name, but if it was 2006, then the 2006 Fleer Greats of the Game are my favorite…if not, then the 2005 SP Legendary Cuts are. Thanks for the contest!

  24. My favorite: Just the good ol’ Upper Deck flagship base sets. The quality, full bleed photos on great card stock. I don’t have a particular year that is my favorite, and heck, they don’t really even change too much from year to year but they always have great eye appeal in my opinion.

  25. I’ll pick 1993 Upper Deck principally for the amazing photography depicted in the Iooss Collection insert.

  26. 08 Masterpieces Baseball/Football/Hockey. I actually like 07 Baseball better than 08 but I like that the brand was migrated to the other sports. I would have love to see future releases.

  27. I’m with Steve on the 1993 UD. The Iooss Collection inserts directly influenced my decision to get a cinema/photography degree. Plus one time at the mall I had a stack of them in my hand and accidentally dropped the whole stack in front of a teenage couple breaking up on a bench. They had to sit there in silence waiting for me to pick them all up. It was the most awkward experience of a year full of awkward moments (I was 12).

    -Andy

  28. Easily 1993 Upper Deck. Specifically series 2, it was the first UD set that I actually had money to buy in any quantity. Plus the photography in the set was some of the best that UD has put together for a base set.

  29. 1990-91 Upper Deck Hockey. There were so many stars and rookies of great players and future HOFers. Too bad it was so overly produced. A set like this made with today’s print runs would be insane.

  30. I would say Masterpiece but it has been said to many times already so I’m going to go with 96 SPX. You can’t go wrong with a holograhm on the front of every card.

  31. 1990 Upper Deck Looney Tunes Comic Ball. Same reasons as Mark. If I could find a box (cheap) today, I would open ’em up early on a Saturday morning. I would be careful not to spill any milk on them from my huge bowl of Cocoa Puffs.

  32. Definitely the first one. ’89 was the start of it all. The glossiness. The photos. The holograms! The fact that, at a dollar a pack, it was much too expensive for me to collect. Ah, the memories…

  33. Like a previous poster said, I love 09 Goodwin. The base set design is good lookin’ and the on-card autos are beautiful. I’m a big fan of Sweet Spot too.

  34. 1990 UD – first box ever opened to “chase the Nolan”.

  35. 2007 Masterpieces. It has been said a lot but that is because it is the best base set UD ever produced. The SPs were a pain but they looked so good.

    1989 is my runner up. They changed the industry, for better of for worse.

Leave a comment