Late To The Party

With the craziness of closing on my new place, and prepping for a move, there just hasn’t been much time for anything lately. Earlier this week, as I’m sure all of you are aware, Hall of Fame pitcher Robin Roberts moved on to the great diamond in the sky. Now, I never Rockin’ Robin pitch, but he won 20 games 5 years in a row, from 1950 to 1955, and once hurled 28 complete games in a single season. Most guys now don’t complete that many games in their entire careers. Sounds like dude was one hell of a pitcher, if you ask me, which of course you didn’t. Roberts spent 4 seasons with Baltimore (’62-’65), yet I don’t own a single card of him in the orange & black. Instead, here’s the best card of his that I do have in my collection.

1926-2010

-b

One response to “Late To The Party

  1. Interesting note about the complete games: Yesterday’s perfect game by Dallas Braden was his first Major League complete game. 28 complete games in one season will (probably) never be done again. RIP Robin.

Leave a comment